Types Of Bread And Whether They Are Gluten Free


Bread is a difficult subject in the world of gluten free. Unlike most categories of food, naturally gluten free bread is few and far between.

I’ve created a long list of food and separated it into five different categories ranging from always safe to always unsafe. Here is how we ranked them:

Gluten Free. These items are gluten free without much concern of cross-contamination. Always check labels and ensure the product is gluten free. The items listed with this label can usually be eaten safely without a gluten free label. Always use your best judgment.

Naturally Gluten Free. These items are naturally gluten free and are usually safe, but have a risk of cross-contamination. You should check the labels more closely, but the risk of these items is relatively low. I default to this option on most gluten free products.

Gluten Free Label Required. These items have a high risk of cross-contamination and should not be consumed without a gluten free label, indicating it has less than 20ppm gluten.

Assume Gluten. These are items where you should assume they contain gluten. They are items primarily made with gluten ingredients, but gluten free alternatives exist. These will be prominently labeled as gluten free if they are safe, and commonly have “gluten free” in the name of the product.

Always Contains Gluten. These items will always contain gluten and you should view these products as a giant stop sign on any ingredient label. Anyone who is gluten free (especially those diagnosed with Celiac Disease) should never eat any of these products.

While we make every effort to provide information that is as accurate as possible, companies frequently change their ingredients, production process, or facilities. Always make sure the food you are purchasing or consuming is gluten free for yourself. Check for gluten free certifications, look at the ingredients, and statements on the packaging of the product.

Homemade or food made in restaurants differs in how we need to verify the gluten free status. The best practice is to only eat food from a dedicated gluten free kitchen to ensure it is gluten free. However, this is not always possible. Ask questions on how they ensure food is gluten free.

To find dedicated gluten free restaurants and other businesses, check out the map finder. We verify each and every establishment to ensure it is in fact dedicated gluten free instead of relying on crowd-sourcing and other people’s opinions.

For information on how to cook for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a medically necessary gluten free diet, read this article I wrote about the process. While it can seem overwhelming, these are the steps necessary to ensure food is gluten free. I assure you, those of us who require a gluten free diet appreciate the care and attention people put into this so we can enjoy being included.

For a complete list of over 2000 food items separated into the above categories on lists without individual explanations, click here.

When the product requires a more in-depth explanation and I have written an article with greater details, I will link it after the brief explanations given here.

The below information is provided as a guide only. Always read the ingredients list on any product as well as the may contain statements and

Bread

Anpan

Anpan is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Anpan is made with flour containing wheat.

Arepa

Arepa is naturally gluten free, but there is a high risk of cross-contact with gluten products. If on a gluten free diet for medical reasons, only consume ones specifically marked as gluten free. Without the gluten free label, assume the Arepa contains greater than 20ppm gluten.

Baba

Baba is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Baba is made with flour containing wheat.

Babka

Babka is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Babka is made with flour containing wheat.

Bagels

Bagels are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Bagels are made with wheat flour.

Baguettes

Baguettes are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Baguettes are made with wheat flour.

Banana Bread

Banana Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Banana Bread is made with wheat flour.

Bannock

Bannock is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Bannock is made with wheat flour.

Beer Bread

Beer Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Beer Bread is made with wheat flour.

Beet Root Tortillas

Beet Root Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Beet Root Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Belgium Waffles

Belgian Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Belgium Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Biscotti

Biscotti are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Biscotti are made with wheat flour.

Biscuits

Biscuits are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Biscuits are made with wheat flour.

Black Bread

Black Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Black Bread is made with wheat flour.

Blue Corn Tortillas

Blue Corn Tortillas are naturally gluten free. There is a risk of cross-contamination in processing facilities. Always check for gluten free labels when purchasing if on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Blue Corn Tortillas are an easy bread option that is naturally gluten free.

Boule

Boule is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Boule is made with wheat flour.

Bread Rolls

Bread Rolls are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Bread Rolls are made with wheat flour.

Bread Sticks

Bread Sticks are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Bread Sticks are made with wheat flour.

Brioche

Brioche is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Brioche is made with wheat flour.

Brown Bread

Brown Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Brown Bread is made with wheat flour.

Brussels Waffles

Brussels Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Brussels Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Bublik

Bublik is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Bublik is made with wheat flour.

Buckwheat Waffles

Buckwheat Waffles are naturally gluten free, but there is a high risk of cross-contact with gluten products. If on a gluten free diet for medical reasons, only consume ones specifically marked as gluten free. Without the gluten free label, assume the Buckwheat Waffles contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Burrito Tortillas

Burrito Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Burrito Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Canadian White Bread

Canadian White Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Canadian White Bread is made with wheat flour.

Carrot Bread

Carrot Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Carrot Bread is made with wheat flour.

Challah

Challah is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Challah is made with wheat flour.

Chickpea Bread

Chickpea Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Chickpea Bread is made with wheat flour.

Ciabatta

Ciabatta is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Ciabatta is made with wheat flour.

Cornbread

Cornbread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Cornbread is made with wheat flour.

Corn Tortillas

Corn Tortillas are naturally gluten free. There is a risk of cross-contamination in processing facilities. Always check for gluten free labels when purchasing if on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Corn Tortillas are an easy bread option that is naturally gluten free.

Cottage Loaf

Cottage Loaf is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Cottage Loaf is made with wheat flour.

Cozonac

Cozonac is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Cozonac made with wheat flour.

Crisp Bread

Crisp Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Crisp Bread is made with wheat flour.

Crumpet

Crumpets are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Crumpets are made with wheat flour.

Cuban Bread

Cuban Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Cuban Bread is made with wheat flour.

Curry Bread

Curry Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Curry Bread is made with wheat flour.

Dampfnudel

Dampfnudel is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Dampfnudel is made with wheat flour.

English Muffins

English Muffins are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the English Muffins are made with wheat flour.

Flatbread

Flatbread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Flatbread is made with wheat flour.

Flemish Waffles

Flemish Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Flemish Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Focaccia

Focaccia is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Focaccia is made with wheat flour.

Graham Bread

Graham Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Graham Bread is made with wheat flour.

Green Onion Pancakes

Green Onion Pancakes are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Green Onion Pancakes are made with wheat flour.

Hardtack

Hardtack is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Hardtack is made with wheat flour.

Hoecake

Hoecakes are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Hoecakes are made with wheat flour.

Hoja Santa Tortillas

Hoja Santa Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Hoja Santa Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Jicama Tortillas

Jicama Tortillas are naturally gluten free. There is a risk of cross-contamination in processing facilities. Always check for gluten free labels when purchasing if on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Jicama Tortillas are an easy bread option that is naturally gluten free.

Johnnycake

Johnnycakes are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Johnnycakes are made with wheat flour.

Lefse

Lefse is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Lefse is made with wheat flour.

Liege Waffles

Liege Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Liege Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Limpa

Limpa is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Limpa is made with wheat or rye flour.

Lye Rolls

Lye Rolls are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Lye Rolls are made with wheat flour.

Matzah

Matzah is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Matzah is made with wheat flour.

Milk Bread

Milk Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Milk Bread is made with wheat flour.

Milk Loaf

Milk Loaf is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Milk Loaf is made with wheat flour.

Milk Rolls

Milk Rolls are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Milk Rolls made with wheat flour.

Mollete

Mollette is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Mollette is made with wheat flour.

Nopal Tortillas

Nopal Tortillas are naturally gluten free. There is a risk of cross-contamination in processing facilities. Always check for gluten free labels when purchasing if on a medically necessary gluten free diet. To make sure they are gluten free, look for one labeled certified gluten free.

Pan Arabe Tortillas

Pan Arabe Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pan Arabe Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Pan Brioche

Pan Brioche is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pan Brioche is made with wheat flour.

Pan Dulche

Pan Dulce is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pan Dulce is made with wheat flour.

Pandan Waffles

Pandan Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pandan Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Pita

Pitas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pitas are made with wheat flour.

Potato Bread

Potato Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Potato Bread is made with wheat flour.

Pretzel Bread

Pretzel Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pretzel Bread is made with wheat flour.

Pumpernickel Bread

Pumpernickel Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pumpernickel Bread is made with wheat flour.

Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Pumpkin Bread is made with wheat flour.

Quick Bread

Quick Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Quick Bread is made with wheat flour.

Rice Bread

Rice Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Rice Bread is made with wheat flour.

Rieska

Rieska is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Rieska is made with wheat flour.

Roti

Roti is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Roti is made with wheat flour.

Rye Bread

Rye Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Rye Bread is made with wheat and rye flour.

Scones

Scones are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Scones are made with wheat flour.

Soda Bread

Soda Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Soda Bread is made with wheat flour.

Sourdough Bread

Sourdough Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Sourdough Bread has more than 20ppm gluten.

Sourdough Waffles

Sourdough Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Sourdough Waffles are made with wheat flour.

Spelt Bread

Spelt Bread is not gluten free. It contains less gluten than other wheat flour, but is far above the 20ppm that is safe for people with Celiac Disease to consume. Any mention of Spelt Bread should indicate the product is not safe for anyone avoiding gluten.

Spinach Tortillas

Spinach Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Spinach Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Sprouted Bread

Sprouted Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Sprouted Bread is made with wheat grains.

Tandoor Roti

Tandoor Roti is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Tandoor Roti is made with wheat flour.

Teacakes

Teacakes are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Teacakes are made with wheat flour.

Texas Toast

Texas Toast is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Texas Toast is made with wheat flour.

Tiger Bread

Tiger Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Tiger Bread is made with wheat flour.

Tortillas

Tortillas are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Tortillas are made with wheat flour.

Vienna Bread

Vienna Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Vienna Bread is made with wheat flour.

Waffles

Waffles are not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the Waffles are made with wheat flour.

White Bread

White Bread is not gluten free unless specifically marked. There will usually be a large gluten free label if it is gluten free, typically even incorporated into the name of the product. If there is not a prominent gluten free label, assume the White Bread is made with wheat flour.

Whole Wheat Bread

Whole Wheat Bread is not gluten free. Wheat is the main source of gluten and Whole Wheat is never gluten free. It contains significantly more than 20ppm gluten, far above the amount that is safe for those with Celiac Disease. Whole Wheat Bread is never safe for those with Celiac Disease.

Types Of Bread And Whether They Are Gluten Free

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts