There are so many new ways that pasta is being made. I recently tried some edamame pasta that didn’t even need to be boiled! But is veggie pasta gluten free? How can we tell?
That’s the question I hope to answer here today.
The first clue that this particular pasta is NOT gluten free is the lack of a gluten free label on it. Barilla has great gluten free pasta and it is usually labeled well and prominently. If there is not a large announcement on the front, it is probably not gluten free.
The best place to look on any packaged food item to determine its gluten free status is the ingredients label.
There is no end of confusion about what is and is not gluten free. So if we can figure it out without this label, all the better. What we need to do here is to look below the list of ingredients for the “contains” message. This message will not be always include everything so don’t rely on it, but it’s a fast and easy way to rule out wheat.
If it says contains wheat, 99% of the time it is not gluten free.
What Can I Use Instead?
For gluten free pasta, always look for that prominent gluten free label. Once you have that, look for the “Certified Gluten Free” which will tell you it is below 20ppm gluten.
If you accidently picked this up from the store and had no other pasta around, what could you use instead?
A go-to for me is always going to be rice. It won’t be appropriate in every application for pasta, but it is a start.
If you were looking to add that veggie into the meal in pasta form, you can do spaghetti squash. My kids love this! Especially if you sautee it with some butter and magical seasoning mix before putting the pasta sauce on.
Another option is spiralizing zucchini.
A little less conventional is serving the sauce without pasta. You can add toast on the side if you want some carbs in the meal. Check out my thoughts on popular bread brands with my absolute favorite brand at the end here.
If you want to use a veggie pasta that actually IS gluten free, check this one out.