Skip to Content

Is Pastry Gluten Free?

Pastry and other baked goods can be extremely difficult to give up after starting a gluten free diet. There are many gluten free pastry options out there, but are there any naturally gluten free pastries?

Pastries are almost never gluten free unless specifically stated. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure the product is gluten free and safe for a medically necessary gluten free diet. If the pastry is gluten free it will have a clear label on it that may even be included in the title.

Read below to find your favorite pastry to see if it is gluten free. I’ve created a rating system that goes beyond the yes or no answers and takes risk into account.

Apple Pie

Apple Pie is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Apple Pie is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and not safe for a gluten free diet.

Apple Strudel

Apple Strudel is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Apple Strudel is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and not safe for a gluten free diet.

Bakewell Pudding

Bakewell Pudding is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Bakewell Pudding is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Baklava

Baklava is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Baklava is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Bear Claw

Bear Claws are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Bear Claws are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Beaver Tails

Beaver Tails are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Beaver Tails are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Berliner

Berliners are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Berliners are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Cherry Pie

Cherry Pie is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Cherry Pie is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Choux Pastry

Choux Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Choux Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Cinnamon Rolls

Cinnamon Rolls are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Cinnamon Rolls are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Cornish Pastry

Cornish Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Cornish Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Cream Horns

Cream Horns are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Cream Horns are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Crepes

Crepes are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Crepes are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Crepes Suzette

Crepes Suzette is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Crepes Suzette is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Croissants

Croissants are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Croissants are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Cronuts

Cronuts are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Cronuts are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Croquembouche

Croquembouche is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Croquembouche is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Curry Puffs

Curry Puffs are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Curry Puffs are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Danish Pastries

Danish Pastries are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Danish Pastries are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Dutch Baby

Dutch Baby is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Dutch Baby is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Eccles Cake

Eccles Cake is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Eccles Cake is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Eclairs

Eclairs are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Eclairs are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Egg Tarts

Egg Tarts are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume Egg Tarts are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Empanadas

Empanadas are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Empanadas are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Fig Rolls

Fig Rolls are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Fig Rolls are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Flaky Pastry

Flaky Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Flaky Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Hot Water Crust Pastry

Hot Water Crust Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Hot Water Crust Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Kolache

Kolache is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Kolache is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Macarons

Macarons are naturally gluten free, but there is a high risk of cross-contamination in a regular kitchen or product line. Make sure if purchasing for someone on a medically necessary gluten free diet are labeled gluten free, and preferably have a certified gluten free label to ensure Macarons are less than 20ppm gluten.

Mille Feuille

Mille Feuille is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Mille Feuille is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Mooncakes

Mooncakes are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Mooncakes are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pain au Chocolat

Pain au Chocolat is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pain au Chocolat is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Palmiers

Palmiers are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Palmiers are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pan Dulce

Pan Dulce is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pan Dulce is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Panzarotti

Panzarotti is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Panzarotti is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pastry

Pastries are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pecan Pie

Pecan Pie is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pecan Pie is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pineapple Cake

Pineapple Cake is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pineapple Cake is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pizza

Pizza is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pizza is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Poppy Seed Rolls

Poppy Seed Rolls are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Poppy Seed Rolls are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pot Pie

Pot Pie is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pot Pie is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Pretzels

Pretzels are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Pretzels are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Profiteroles

Profiteroles are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Profiteroles are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Puff Pastry

Puff Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Puff Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Rhubarb Tart

Rhubarb Tart is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Rhubarb Tart is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Rugelach

Rugelach is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Rugelach is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Samosas

Samosas are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Samosas are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Schnecken

Schnecken is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Schnecken is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Shortcrust Pastry

Shortcrust Pastry is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Shortcrust Pastry is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Spanakopita

Spanakopita is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Spanakopita is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Streusel

Streusel is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Streusel is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Strudel

Strudel is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Strudel is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Suncake

Suncake is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Suncake is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.

Toaster Pastries

Toaster Pastries are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Toaster Pastries are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Tortes

Tortes are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Tortes are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Turnovers

Turnovers are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Turnovers are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Vol-au-vents

Vol-au-vents are not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Vol-au-vents are made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and are not safe for a gluten free diet.

Welsh Cake

Welsh Cake is not gluten free unless it has a specific label claiming it is gluten free. The gluten free label may be added to the product name. If there is no gluten free label, always assume that Welsh Cake is made with flour from wheat, rye, and/or barley and is not safe for a gluten free diet.