Is Imitation Crab Meat Gluten Free?


Is imitation crab meat gluten free?

No. Although there are some brands that have made some gluten free. 

This is one of those tricky ones. Imitation crab meat is made mostly from different types of fish and crab. 

The trick is in the binding agent. When we mix different ingredients together we need something to make them stick. And that is where the gluten sneaks in. In so many things. 

This uses Wheat Starch. There are some contentions about wheat starch compared to wheat flour and the differences. 

Firstly, if it lists wheat and doesn’t say gluten free, avoid it at all costs.

Secondly, if you are new to gluten free or learning for a family member or friend, just assume anything with wheat in it has gluten. It’s a pretty safe bet. 

So in the end, most imitation crab meat is not gluten free. But there are brands that have gone the extra step to use potato starch or pea starch instead of wheat. So read those ingredient labels!

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts