Gluten Free Or Not? List Of Grains And Their Gluten Free Rating


Gluten-free and Grain-free usually go hand-in-hand. But there are many grains that are gluten free and safe for people with Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance due to other medical conditions.

Below you will find a full list of grains and a short explanation about whether they are gluten free, why they are or are not, and any other important information. For grains that require more details, I will link to another article that goes deeper into the topic. If you would like a full list of products with gluten free ratings but without any explanation, click here.

There are five different categories I have split the ratings into:

Gluten Free. These products are naturally gluten free and usually have little to no chance of cross-contamination. You can consume these products without much concern. Always look for gluten free labels as well as may contain statements.

Naturally Gluten Free. For this category, these products are naturally gluten free, but you should read labels carefully and be cautious as always when deciding whether to purchase and use a product for those who need to be strictly gluten free.

Gluten Free Label Required. These are products that are naturally gluten free or usually gluten free, but the potential risk that they may contain gluten is high enough that you shouldn’t purchase this product or a product with this as an ingredient unless there is a gluten free label on the product.

Usually Gluten Unless Marked. The products marked with this rating are usually made with gluten-containing products, however, there are gluten free alternatives on the market. These products will be specifically marked gluten free if they are safe, typically the gluten free label will be part of the product name or found prominently on the package.

Never Gluten Free. These are the items with a full-sized stop sign on them. These products are not gluten free and are never safe for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a gluten free diet. Look for these as a warning sign on labels.

This list of grains is done alphabetically. When I’ve written an article that provides a more in-depth response, I have provided the link just following the short explanation. If you prefer the lists in graphic form, scroll to the bottom of the page to find the lists separated into gluten free and gluten grains.

List Of Grains

Amaranth

Amaranth is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Amaranth.

Arborio Rice

Arborio Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Arborio Rice.

Barley

Barley is not gluten free. Although it has less gluten than wheat, it is not safe for those with Celiac Disease or on a gluten free diet. This includes derivatives such as malt, malt flavoring, or other products made from Barley. Products containing Barley or its derivatives are never gluten free.

Basmati Rice

Basmati Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Basmati Rice.

Black Rice

Black Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Black Rice.

Black Wheat

Black Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Black Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Blue Wheat

Blue Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Blue Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Bread Wheat

Bread Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Bread Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Brown Rice

Brown Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Brown Rice.

Buckwheat

Buckwheat is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Buckwheat.

Bulgar

Bulgar Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Bulgar Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Calrose Rice

Calrose Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Calrose Rice.

Chia Seeds

Chia is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Chia seeds.

Club Wheat

Club Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Club Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Cone Wheat

Cone Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Cone Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Corn

Corn is naturally gluten free, but is frequently grown in, or near, fields used for wheat production. Corn has a high possibility of cross-contamination with wheat. Corn should be labeled gluten free to ensure it contains less than 20ppm gluten, the level deemed safe for those with Celiac Disease.

Durum Wheat

Durum Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Durum Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Einkorn

Einkorn Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Einkorn Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Emmer Wheat

Emmer Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Emmer Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

English Wheat

English Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with English Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Farik

Farik Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Farik Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Farro

Farro Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Farro Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Finger Millet

Finger Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Finger Millet.

Fonio

Fonio is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Fonio.

Foxtail Millet

Foxtail Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Foxtail Millet.

Hard Red Wheat

Hard Red Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Hard Red Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Hard White Wheat

Hard White Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Hard White Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Hominy

Hominy is naturally gluten free, but is frequently grown in, or near, fields used for wheat production. Hominy has a high possibility of cross-contamination with wheat. Hominy should be labeled gluten free to ensure it contains less than 20ppm gluten, the level deemed safe for those with Celiac Disease.

Indian Dwarf Wheat

Indian Dwarf Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Indian Dwarf Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Japanese Millet

Japanese Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Japanese Millet.

Jasmine Rice

Jasmine Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Jasmine Rice.

Job’s Tears

Job’s Tears is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Job’s Tears.

Kaniwa

Kaniwa is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Kaniwa.

Khorasan Wheat

Khorasan Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Khorasan Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Kodo Millet

Kodo Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Kodo Millet.

Long Grain White Rice

Long Grain White Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Long Grain White Rice.

Macaroni Wheat

Macaroni Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Macaroni Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Millet

Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Millet.

Oats

Oats are naturally gluten free, but are frequently grown in close proximity to wheat crops. Only Oats labeled gluten free are safe for consumption by those with Celiac Disease. Oats without the gluten free label should be treated as containing wheat and high levels of gluten.

Pearl Millet

Pearl Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Pearl Millet.

Persian Wheat

Persian Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Persian Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Proso Millet

Proso Millet is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Proso Millet.

Quinoa

Quinoa is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Quinoa.

Red Cargo Rice

Red Cargo Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Red Cargo Rice.

Rice

Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Rice.

Rivet Wheat

Rivet Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Rivet Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Rye

Rye is not gluten free. Although it has less gluten than wheat, it is not safe for those with Celiac Disease or on a gluten free diet. This includes derivatives made from Rye. Products containing Rye or its derivatives are never gluten free.

Shot Wheat

Shot Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Shot Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Soft Red Wheat

Soft Red Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Soft Red Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Soft White Wheat

Soft White Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Soft White Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Sorghum

Sorghum is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Sorghum is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Sorghum.

Spelt

Spelt is not gluten free. It is an older strain of wheat, and it is not safe for those with Celiac Disease or on a gluten free diet. The gluten content of Spelt is less than wheat, but far above the 20ppm gluten required for gluten free labels. Products containing Spelt are never gluten free.

Spring Wheat

Spring Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Spring Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Sticky Rice

Sticky Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Sticky Rice.

Sushi Rice

Sushi Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Sushi Rice.

Sweet Rice

Sweet Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Sweet Rice.

Teff

Teff is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if grown in, or next to, a field used for wheat production. Cross-contamination may also happen in the processing facility, so caution needs to be taken when purchasing gluten free Teff.

Triticale

Triticale is not gluten free. It is a combination between wheat and rye, it is not safe for those with Celiac Disease or on a gluten free diet. Neither wheat nor rye is gluten free, and the hybrid between them also contains gluten. Products containing Triticale are never gluten free.

Valencia Rice

Valencia Rice is naturally gluten free. There is little, or no, risk of cross-contamination. Rice is rarely grown near wheat or processed in the same facility. Read all statements on the package for cross-content warnings when purchasing gluten free Valencia Rice.

Wheat

No Wheat is gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with any Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Wheat Berries

Wheat Berries are not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Wheat Berries on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Wild Einkorn Wheat

Wild Einkorn Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Wild Einkorn Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Wild Emmer

Wild Emmer Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Wild Emmer Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Wild Rice

Wild Rice is naturally gluten free, but is frequently grown in, or near, fields used for wheat production. Wild Rice has a high possibility of cross-contamination with wheat. Wild Rice should be labeled gluten free to ensure it contains less than 20ppm gluten, the level deemed safe for those with Celiac Disease.

Winter Wheat

Winter Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Winter Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Yellow Wheat

Yellow Wheat is not gluten free. Wheat contains the highest gluten of any grain and is not safe for consumption by anyone on a gluten free diet or diagnosed with Celiac Disease. Any product with Yellow Wheat on the label cannot be considered gluten free.

Gluten Free Or Not? List Of Grains And Their Gluten Free Rating

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts