Definitive List Of Canned Beans And Whether They Are Gluten Free


Canned beans are usually assumed to be gluten free by people who do not require a gluten free diet. Once you know about cross-contamination and start finding gluten in the oddest places, it’s something you need to question.

Most canned beans are naturally gluten free but rarely labeled. Single product canned beans without a sauce are usually gluten free. However, at least a gluten free label from the company is preferable to know they are gluten free over no label; but a certified gluten free label is preferred.

I’ve gone through every iteration of canned beans I could find and have sorted them according to how gluten free they are. I have also looked into the most common brands that produce canned beans to find what they have to say about how gluten free their products are.

I’ve come up with a scale of gluten free to not because finding food that works for a gluten free diet isn’t a dichotomy. There are layers of information and the decision of whether to purchase and eat an item isn’t as easy as it might seem. Here are the five categories I’ve split them into:

Gluten Free. These items are gluten free without much concern of cross-contamination. Always check labels and ensure the product is gluten free. The items listed with this label can usually be eaten safely without a gluten free label. Always use your best judgment.

Naturally Gluten Free. These items are naturally gluten free and are usually safe, but have a risk of cross-contamination. You should check the labels more closely, but the risk of these items is relatively low. I default to this option on most gluten free products.

Gluten Free Label Required. These items have a high risk of cross-contamination and should not be consumed without a gluten free label, indicating it has less than 20ppm gluten.

Assume Gluten. These are items where you should assume they contain gluten. They are items primarily made with gluten ingredients, but gluten free alternatives exist. These will be prominently labeled as gluten free if they are safe, and commonly have “gluten free” in the name of the product.

Always Contains Gluten. These items will always contain gluten and you should view these products as a giant stop sign on any ingredient label. Anyone who is gluten free (especially those diagnosed with Celiac Disease) should never eat any of these products.

While we make every effort to provide information that is as accurate as possible, companies frequently change their ingredients, production process, or facilities. Always make sure the food you are purchasing or consuming is gluten free for yourself. Check for gluten free certifications, look at the ingredients, and statements on the packaging of the product.

Homemade or food made in restaurants differs in how we need to verify the gluten free status. The best practice is to only eat food from a dedicated gluten free kitchen to ensure it is gluten free. However, this is not always possible. Ask questions on how they ensure food is gluten free.

To find dedicated gluten free restaurants and other businesses, check out the map finder. We verify each and every establishment to ensure it is in fact dedicated gluten free instead of relying on crowd-sourcing and other people’s opinions.

For information on how to cook for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a medically necessary gluten free diet, read this article I wrote about the process. While it can seem overwhelming, these are the steps necessary to ensure food is gluten free. I assure you, those of us who require a gluten free diet appreciate the care and attention people put into this so we can enjoy being included.

Use the table of contents below to skip to the one you are looking for or simply scroll down to browse through. It is organized alphabetically.

For a list-style post with them separated into categories without individual information, see the reference guide to gluten free.

365 Beans

364 Canned Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. Whole Foods 365 products are tested to verify the content of gluten. If they contain less than 20ppm they are labeled as gluten free. Without the gluten free label, assume the product contains gluten and is not suitable for a gluten free diet.

Admor Beans

Admor Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Admor Beans contain gluten.

Adzuki Beans

Adzuki Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Adzuki Beans are gluten free.

B&M Beans

B&M Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume B&M Beans contain gluten.

Baked Beans

Baked Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Baked Beans contain gluten.

Black Beans

Black Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Black Beans are gluten free.

Blackeye Peas

Blackeye Peas are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Blackeye Peas are gluten free.

Boston Baked Beans

Boston Baked Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Boston Baked Beans contain gluten.

Bush’s Beans

Bush’s Beans are all naturally gluten free. Checking for a gluten free label is best practice to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Bush’s Bean are gluten free.

Butter Beans

Butter Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Butter Beans are gluten free.

Calico Beans

Calico Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Calico Beans contain gluten.

Campbell’s Beans

Campbell’s Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Campbell’s Beans contain gluten.

Cannellini Beans

Cannellini Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Cannellini Beans are gluten free.

Charro Style Beans

Charro Style Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Charro Style Beans contain gluten.

Chickpea Beans

Chickpea Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Chickpea Beans are gluten free.

Chili Beans

Chili Beans usually contain gluten and are not suitable for a gluten free diet. Usually made with wheat flour, the manufacturer may use alternative ingredients to make them gluten free. Only a gluten free label would indicate that Chili Beans are suitable for a medically necessary gluten free diet.

Deez Beans

Deez Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Deez brand Beans contain gluten.

Del Monte Beans

Del Monte Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Del Monte Beans contain gluten.

Eden Beans

Eden Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Eden Beans contain gluten.

Fava Beans

Fava Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Fava Beans are gluten free.

Furmano’s Beans

Furmano’s Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Furmano’s Beans contain gluten.

Garbanzo Beans

Garbanzo Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Garbanzo Beans are gluten free.

Glory Beans

Glory Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Glory Beans contain gluten.

Goya Beans

Goya Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Furmano’s Beans contain gluten.

Great Northern Beans

Great Northern Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Great Northern Beans are gluten free.

Great Value Beans

Great Value Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Great Value Beans contain gluten.

Green Beans

Green Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Green Beans are gluten free.

HEB Beans

HEB Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume HEB Beans contain gluten.

Heinz Beans

Heinz Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Heinz Beans contain gluten.

Home Canned Beans

Home Canned Beans are gluten free only when they are made in a gluten free environment. Cross-contamination is likely to occur when made in a kitchen that regularly uses gluten ingredients, especially if the Home Canned Beans are made using the same equipment that has been used with gluten products.

Kidney Beans

Kidney Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Kidney Beans are gluten free.

Kroger Beans

Kroger Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Kroger Beans contain gluten.

Kunder’s Beans

Kunder’s Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Kunder’s Beans contain gluten.

La Costena Beans

La Costena Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume La Costena Beans contain gluten.

La Preferida Beans

La Preferida Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume La Preferida Beans contain gluten.

Levant Beans

Levant Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Levant Beans contain gluten.

Lima Beans

Lima Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Lima Beans are gluten free.

Margaret Holmes Beans

Margaret Holmes Beans are gluten free per the statement on their website. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Margaret Holmes Beans contain gluten.

Meijer Beans

Meijer Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Meijer Beans contain gluten.

Mexican Canned Beans

Mexican Canned Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Mexican Canned Beans contain gluten.

Mexican Style Chili Beans

Mexican Style Chili Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Mexican Style Chili Beans contain gluten.

Mung Beans

Mung Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Mung Beans are gluten free.

Navy Beans

Navy Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Navy Beans are gluten free.

O Organics Beans

O Organics Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume O Organics Beans contain gluten.

Canned Peas

Canned Peas are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Canned Peas are gluten free.

Pinto Beans

Pinto Beans are naturally gluten free when they are not canned in a sauce. Always check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free. However, they are likely gluten free even without a label. Check the label for contains statements and other clues to whether Pinto Beans are gluten free.

Pork and Beans

Pork and Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Pork and Beans contain gluten.

Progresso Beans

Progresso Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Progresso Beans contain gluten.

Ranch Style Beans

Ranch Style Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Ranch Style Beans contain gluten.

Refried Beans

Refried Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Refried Beans contain gluten.

Rosarita Beans

Rosarita Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Rosarita Beans contain gluten.

SW Beans

SW Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume SW Beans contain gluten.

Van Camp’s Beans

Van Camp’s Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Van Camp’s Beans contain gluten.

Vegetarian Beans

Vegetarian Beans are gluten free only when they contain a gluten free label. While beans are naturally gluten free, without a label they could contain enough gluten to harm those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, assume Vegetarian Beans contain gluten.

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts