Canned Meat – Gluten Free or Not


Canned meat can be confusing to figure out whether or not it is gluten free. Many times it will not be labeled, just like other single ingredient canned foods, which can lead to confusion.

Most canned meat is naturally gluten free, but a gluten free label is always preferred to ensure the safety of a medically necessary gluten free diet. Some canned meat contains pasta or other gluten-containing ingredients so always check the ingredient label and try to purchase products with gluten free labels.

I’ve found as many types of canned meats that I can to put together the list below. If you are looking for more of a list that puts everything into categories of gluten free or not, see this article I’ve created as a reference manual to what is gluten free not.

Here is the rating system that I have used:

Gluten Free. These items are gluten free without much concern of cross-contamination. Always check labels and ensure the product is gluten free. The items listed with this label can usually be eaten safely without a gluten free label. Always use your best judgment.

Naturally Gluten Free. These items are naturally gluten free and are usually safe, but have a risk of cross-contamination. You should check the labels more closely, but the risk of these items is relatively low. I default to this option on most gluten free products.

Gluten Free Label Required. These items have a high risk of cross-contamination and should not be consumed without a gluten free label, indicating it has less than 20ppm gluten.

Assume Gluten. These are items where you should assume they contain gluten. They are items primarily made with gluten ingredients, but gluten free alternatives exist. These will be prominently labeled as gluten free if they are safe, and commonly have “gluten free” in the name of the product.

Always Contains Gluten. These items will always contain gluten and you should view these products as a giant stop sign on any ingredient label. Anyone who is gluten free (especially those diagnosed with Celiac Disease) should never eat any of these products.

While we make every effort to provide information that is as accurate as possible, companies frequently change their ingredients, production process, or facilities. Always make sure the food you are purchasing or consuming is gluten free for yourself. Check for gluten free certifications, look at the ingredients, and statements on the packaging of the product.

Homemade or food made in restaurants differs in how we need to verify the gluten free status. The best practice is to only eat food from a dedicated gluten free kitchen to ensure it is gluten free. However, this is not always possible. Ask questions on how they ensure food is gluten free.

To find dedicated gluten free restaurants and other businesses, check out the map finder. We verify each and every establishment to ensure it is in fact dedicated gluten free instead of relying on crowd-sourcing and other people’s opinions.

For information on how to cook for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a medically necessary gluten free diet, read this article I wrote about the process. While it can seem overwhelming, these are the steps necessary to ensure food is gluten free. I assure you, those of us who require a gluten free diet appreciate the care and attention people put into this so we can enjoy being included.

Use the table of contents below to navigate the article, or simply scroll through the items. Everything is listed alphabetically.

Beef Ravioli

Canned Beef Ravioli is never gluten free. There is pasta canned with the meat in this dish which is made with wheat. Wheat is never safe on a medically necessary gluten free diet and the presence of wheat should be considered a sign that Beef Ravioli is not gluten free.

Beef Stew

Canned Beef Stew should be assumed to contain gluten unless the label asserts otherwise. Any presence of wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients should be a red flag to avoid this product for anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Beef Stew is gluten free, there will be a clear label with that information.

Campbell’s Spaghetti and Meatballs

Campbell’s Spaghetti and Meatballs is never gluten free. There is pasta canned with the meat in this dish which is made with wheat. Wheat is never safe on a medically necessary gluten free diet and the presence of wheat should be considered a sign that Campbell’s Spaghetti and Meatballs is not gluten free.

Canned Anchovies

Canned Anchovies are naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure they are gluten free.

Canned Beef

Canned Beef is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Beef is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Bratwurst

Canned Bratwurst should be assumed to contain gluten unless the label asserts otherwise. Any presence of wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients should be a red flag to avoid this product for anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Bratwurst is gluten free, there will be a clear label with that information.

Canned Chicken

Canned Chicken is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Chicken is gluten free.

Canned Corn Beef

Canned Corned Beef is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Corned Beef is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Corned Beef Hash

Canned Corned Beef Hash is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Corned Beef Hash is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Duck

Canned Duck is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Duck is gluten free.

Canned Fish

Canned Fish is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Fish is gluten free.

Canned Ground Beef

Canned Ground Beef is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Ground Beef is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Ham

Canned Ham is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Ham is gluten free.

Canned Lobster Meat

Canned Lobster Meat is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Lobster Meat is gluten free.

Canned Lump Crabmeat

Canned Lump Crabmeat is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Lump Crabmeat is gluten free.

Canned Ox Tongue

Canned Ox Tongue is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Ox Tongue is gluten free.

Canned Oysters

Canned Oysters are naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Oysters are gluten free.

Canned Pork

Canned Pork is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Pork is gluten free.

Canned Pork Ribs with Cabbage

Canned Pork Ribs with Cabbage are naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Pork Ribs with Cabbage is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Pork Stew

Canned Pork Stew is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Pork Stew is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Roast Beef

Canned Roast Beef is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Canned Roast Beef is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Canned Salmon

Canned Salmon is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Salmon is gluten free.

Canned Tuna

Canned Tuna is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure the Canned Tuna is gluten free.

Canned Turkey

Canned Turkey is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure Canned Turkey is gluten free.

Chicken Spread

Chicken Spread is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Chicken Spread is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Creamed Sliced Beef

Creamed Sliced Beef should be assumed to contain gluten unless the label asserts otherwise. Any presence of wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients should be a red flag to avoid this product for anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Creamed Sliced Beef is gluten free, there will be a clear label with that information.

Cured Ham

Cured Ham is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Cured Ham is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Potted Meat

Potted Meat is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Potted Meat is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Sardines

Sardines are naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure Sardines are gluten free.

Smoked Ham

Smoked Ham is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Smoked Ham is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Spaghetti with Meatballs

Spaghetti with Meatballs should be assumed to contain gluten unless the label asserts otherwise. Any presence of wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients should be a red flag to avoid this product for anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Spaghetti with Meatballs is gluten free, there will be a clear label with that information.

Spam

Spam is naturally gluten free, but you should always look for a label that states they are gluten free to ensure they are safe for those on a medically necessary gluten free diet. Without the gluten free label, there is a high chance that the presence of gluten in Spam is higher than the recommended 20ppm.

Vienna Sausages

Vienna Sausages should be assumed to contain gluten unless the label asserts otherwise. Any presence of wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients should be a red flag to avoid this product for anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Vienna Sausages are gluten free, there will be a clear label with that information.

Whole Canned Chicken

Whole Canned Chicken is naturally gluten free. As long as they are not canned in any liquid to add flavor or with additional ingredients, they should be gluten free even without a gluten free label. It is always best to check for a gluten free label to ensure Whole Canned Chicken is gluten free.

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts