Beans, Legumes, Lentils, And More – Gluten Free Explanations


Figuring out if something is gluten or not is more complicated than people that have never had to eat gluten free would ever like to admit. It’s not as simple as avoiding bread and pasta as I’ve seen suggested.

Dry beans, lentils, and legumes are naturally gluten free and should be safe. However, there may be a high risk of cross-contamination with gluten. Always check for a gluten free label, especially for the certified gluten free label to ensure the product is indeed gluten free.

I’ve put together this list to detail the different beans, legumes, lentils, and other dry goods and what precautions should be taken when attempting to find these items for a gluten free diet. I’ve split it up into five different categories ranging from never gluten free to always gluten free:

Gluten Free. These items are gluten free without much concern of cross-contamination. Always check labels and ensure the product is gluten free. The items listed with this label can usually be eaten safely without a gluten free label. Always use your best judgment.

Naturally Gluten Free. These items are naturally gluten free and are usually safe, but have a risk of cross-contamination. You should check the labels more closely, but the risk of these items is relatively low. I default to this option on most gluten free products.

Gluten Free Label Required. These items have a high risk of cross-contamination and should not be consumed without a gluten free label, indicating it has less than 20ppm gluten.

Assume Gluten. These are items where you should assume they contain gluten. They are items primarily made with gluten ingredients, but gluten free alternatives exist. These will be prominently labeled as gluten free if they are safe, and commonly have “gluten free” in the name of the product.

Always Contains Gluten. These items will always contain gluten and you should view these products as a giant stop sign on any ingredient label. Anyone who is gluten free (especially those diagnosed with Celiac Disease) should never eat any of these products.

While we make every effort to provide information that is as accurate as possible, companies frequently change their ingredients, production process, or facilities. Always make sure the food you are purchasing or consuming is gluten free for yourself. Check for gluten free certifications, look at the ingredients, and statements on the packaging of the product.

Homemade or food made in restaurants differs in how we need to verify the gluten free status. The best practice is to only eat food from a dedicated gluten free kitchen to ensure it is gluten free. However, this is not always possible. Ask questions on how they ensure food is gluten free.

To find dedicated gluten free restaurants and other businesses, check out the map finder. We verify each and every establishment to ensure it is in fact dedicated gluten free instead of relying on crowd-sourcing and other people’s opinions.

For information on how to cook for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a medically necessary gluten free diet, read this article I wrote about the process. While it can seem overwhelming, these are the steps necessary to ensure food is gluten free. I assure you, those of us who require a gluten free diet appreciate the care and attention people put into this so we can enjoy being included.

Use the table of contents below to navigate to the specific item you are looking for or simply scroll through for more information. Here is the article I wrote to put every food item I could think of or find into a list form if that is a better solution for you.

Dry Adzuki Beans

Dry Adzuki Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Adzuki Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Baby Lima Beans

Dry Baby Lima Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Baby Lima Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Black Beans

Dry Black Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Black Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Black Beluga Lentils

Dry Black Beluga Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Black Beluga Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Black Lentils

Dry Black Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Black Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Black Turtle Beans

Dry Black Turtle Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Black Turtle Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Black-Eyed Peas

Dry Black-Eyed Peas are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Black-Eyed Peas in their own packaging.

Dry Brown Lentils

Dry Brown Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Brown Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Cannellini Beans

Dry Cannellini Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Cannellini Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Chickpeas

Dry Chickpeas are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Chickpeas in their own packaging.

Dry Cranberry Beans

Dry Cranberry Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Cranberry Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Dark Red Kidney Beans

Dry Dark Red Kidney Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Dark Red Kidney Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Edamame Beans

Dry Edamame Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Edamame Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Fava Beans

Dry Fava Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Fava Beans in their own packaging.

Dry French Green Lentils

Dry French Green Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Black French Green should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Garbanzo Beans

Dry Garbanzo Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Garbanzo Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Great Northern Beans

Dry Great Northern Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Great Northern Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Green Lentils

Dry Green Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Green Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Green Moong Dal

Dry Green Moong Dal is naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Green Moong Dal should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Horse Gram

Dry Horse Gram is naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Horse Gram should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Kidney Beans

Dry Kidney Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Kidney Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Large Lima Beans

Dry Large Lima Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Large Lima Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Light Red Kidney Beans

Dry Light Red Kidney Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Light Red Kidney Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Lima Beans

Dry Lima Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Lima Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Masoor Dal

Dry Masoor Dal is naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Masoor Dal should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Mung Beans

Dry Mung Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Mung Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Navy Beans

Dry Navy Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Navy Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Otebo Beans

Dry Otebo Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Otebo Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Peanuts

Dry Peanuts are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Nuts are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Peanuts should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Peas

Dry Peas are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Dry Peas are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Peas should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Pink Beans

Dry Pink Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Pink Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Pinto Beans

Dry Pinto Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Pinto Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Puy Lentils

Dry Puy Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Puy Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Red and Yellow Lentils

Dry Red and Yellow Lentils are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is likely. Lentils are commonly processed on the same equipment as gluten products, making a gluten free label mandatory. In the absence of a gluten free label, Dry Red and Yellow Lentils should not be considered gluten free.

Dry Small Red Beans

Dry Small Red Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Small Red Beans in their own packaging.

Dry Soybeans

Dry Soybeans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry Soybeans in their own packaging.

Dry White Kidney Beans

Dry White Kidney Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry White Kidney Beans in their own packaging.

Dry White Pea Beans

Dry White Pea Beans are naturally gluten free, but cross-contamination with gluten is possible. Check for a gluten free label, but dry beans are likely gluten free even without the certification. Products in bulk bins are never gluten free, so make sure you purchase Dry White Pea Beans in their own packaging.

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts