75+ Kinds Of Flour – With Gluten Free Explanations


Figuring out what is gluten free or not can be difficult when all the ingredient label says is “flour.” Ingredient lists default to All-Purpose Flour by this simple label.

There are so many different kinds of flour, both gluten free and containing gluten, so I’ve taken this opportunity to write them all out with simple, short explanations on why they are, or are not, gluten free.

If you are looking for a giant list of food separated by categories with the gluten free status labeled, check out this article. There is a lot of data in that article, but I’ve been working to make it the most thorough list of foods that are safe and not safe for a gluten free diet.

Most lists of this type separate the products into just two categories: gluten free or not gluten free. But there are more intricacies to this gluten free world than the dichotomy those lists represent. I’ve made five categories depending on how safe they are for a gluten free diet. Here are the explanations:

Gluten Free. These items are gluten free without much concern of cross-contamination. Always check labels and ensure the product is gluten free. The items listed with this label can usually be eaten safely without a gluten free label. Always use your best judgment.

Naturally Gluten Free. These items are naturally gluten free and are usually safe, but have a risk of cross-contamination. You should check the labels more closely, but the risk of these items is relatively low. I default to this option on most gluten free products.

Gluten Free Label Required. These items have a high risk of cross-contamination and should not be consumed without a gluten free label, indicating it has less than 20ppm gluten.

Assume Gluten. These are items where you should assume they contain gluten. They are items primarily made with gluten ingredients, but gluten free alternatives exist. These will be prominently labeled as gluten free if they are safe, and commonly have “gluten free” in the name of the product.

Always Contains Gluten. These items will always contain gluten and you should view these products as a giant stop sign on any ingredient label. Anyone who is gluten free (especially those diagnosed with Celiac Disease) should never eat any of these products.

While we make every effort to provide information that is as accurate as possible, companies frequently change their ingredients, production process, or facilities. Always make sure the food you are purchasing or consuming is gluten free for yourself. Check for gluten free certifications, look at the ingredients, and statements on the packaging of the product.

Homemade or food made in restaurants differs in how we need to verify the gluten free status. The best practice is to only eat food from a dedicated gluten free kitchen to ensure it is gluten free. However, this is not always possible. Ask questions on how they ensure food is gluten free.

To find dedicated gluten free restaurants and other businesses, check out the map finder. We verify each and every establishment to ensure it is in fact dedicated gluten free instead of relying on crowd-sourcing and other people’s opinions.

For information on how to cook for someone with Celiac Disease or who otherwise requires a medically necessary gluten free diet, read this article I wrote about the process. While it can seem overwhelming, these are the steps necessary to ensure food is gluten free. I assure you, those of us who require a gluten free diet appreciate the care and attention people put into this so we can enjoy being included.

Below you will find a list in alphabetical order of all the different kinds of flour I could find and a brief explanation on whether they are gluten free and why they are categorized by the ratings listed above. When I have written further details on a product that needs a longer explanation, there will be a link after the explanation.

Acacia Seed Flour

Acacia Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Acacia Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

All Purpose Flour

All Purpose Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a wheat-free flour blend and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Almond Flour

Almond Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Almond Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Amaranth Flour

Amaranth Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Amaranth Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Arrowroot Flour

Arrowroot Flour is naturally gluten free. It is not usually processed in a facility with a high potential of gluten cross-contact. Even if it is not labeled gluten free it is typically safe for those who avoid gluten. It is imperative to closely inspect all labels to ensure Arrowroot Flour is gluten free.

Arrowroot Starch

Arrowroot Starch is naturally gluten free. It is not usually processed in a facility with a high potential of gluten cross-contact. Even if it is not labeled gluten free it is typically safe for those who avoid gluten. It is imperative to closely inspect all labels to ensure Arrowroot Starch is gluten free.

Atta Flour

Atta Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Atta Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Atta Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Barley Flour

Barley Flour is not gluten free. It is made from barley grain and contains high levels of gluten. Barley Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Barley Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Blue Corn Flour

Blue Corn Flour is naturally gluten free. Corn is grown in fields next to or following wheat so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Blue Corn Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Bread Flour

Bread Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a flour blend without wheat and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Brown Rice Flour

Brown Rice Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Brown Rice Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Buckwheat Flour

Buckwheat Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Buckwheat Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Cake Flour

Cake Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a flour blend without wheat and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Canihua Flour

Canihua Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Canihua Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Cashew Flour

Cashew Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Cashew Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Cassava Flour

Cassava Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Cassava Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Chestnut Flour

Chestnut Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Chestnut Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Chia Seed Flour

Chia Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Chia Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Chickpea Flour

Chickpea Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Chickpea Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Coconut Flour

Coconut Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Coconut Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Common Wheat Flour

Common Wheat Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Common Wheat Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Common Wheat Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Corn Flour

Corn Flour is naturally gluten free. Corn is grown in fields next to or following wheat so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Corn Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Cornmeal

Cornmeal is naturally gluten free. Corn is grown in fields next to or following wheat so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Cornmeal must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Cornstarch

Cornstarch is naturally gluten free. Corn is grown in fields next to or following wheat so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Cornstarch must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Durum Wheat Flour

Durum Wheat Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Durum Wheat Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Common Wheat Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Enriched Flour

Enriched Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Enriched Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Enriched Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Flaxseed Meal

Flaxseed Meal is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Flaxseed Meal to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Garbanzo Bean Flour

Garbanzo Bean Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Garbanzo Bean Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Gluten Flour

Gluten Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Gluten Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Gluten Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Glutinous Rice Flour

Glutinous Rice Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Despite the name, Glutinous Rice Flour does not contain any gluten but refers to how sticky it is.

Hard Flour

Hard Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Hard Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Hard Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Hazelnut Flour

Hazelnut Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Hazelnut Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Hemp Flour

Hemp Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Hemp Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Kaniwa Flour

Kaniwa Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Kaniwa Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Macadamia Flour

Macadamia Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Macadamia Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Maida Flour

Maida Flour is not gluten free. It is made from whole wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Maida Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Maida Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Masa Harina

Masa Harina is naturally gluten free. Corn is grown in fields next to or following wheat so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Masa Harina must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Mesquite Flour

Mesquite Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Mesquite Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Millet Flour

Millet Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Millet Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Mung Bean Flour

Mung Bean Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Mung Bean Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Noodle Flour

Noodle Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Noodle Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Noodle Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Oat Flour

Oat Flour is naturally gluten free. Oats are grown in fields next to or following a wheat crop so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Oat Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Oatmeal

Oatmeal is naturally gluten free. Oats are grown in fields next to or following a wheat crop so cross-contamination risk is high. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Oatmeal must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Pastry Flour

Pastry Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a flour blend with gluten free ingredients and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Pea Flour

Pea Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Pea Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Peanut Flour

Peanut Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Peanut Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Peacan Flour

Peacan Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Peacan Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Perilla Seed Flour

Perilla Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Perilla Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Pistachio Flour

Pistachio Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Pistachio Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Plain Flour

Plain Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour and contains high levels of gluten. Plain Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Plain Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Potao Flour

Potato Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Potato Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Potato Starch

Potato Starch is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Potato Starch to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Pumpkin Seed Flour

Pumpkin Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Pumpkin Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Quinoa Flour

Quinoa Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Quinoa Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Rye Flour

Rye Flour is not gluten free. It is made from rye grain and contains gluten. Rye Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Rye Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Rye Meal

Rye Meal is not gluten free. It is made from rye grain and contains gluten. Rye Meal should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Rye Meal is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Secale Flour

Secale Flour is not gluten free. It is made from rye grain and contains gluten. Secale Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a gluten free diet. If Secale Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Self-Rising Flour

Self-Rising Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a flour blend with gluten free ingredients and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Sesame Seed Flour

Sesame Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Sesame Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Sorghum Flour

Sorghum Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Sorghum Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Soy Flour

Soy Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Soy Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Spelt Flour

Spelt Flour is not gluten free. It is a strain of wheat and contains gluten. It has less gluten than other wheat flour, but Spelt Flour should never be consumed by anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Spelt Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Sunflower Seed Flour

Sunflower Seed Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Sunflower Seed Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Sweet Potato Flour

Sweet Potato Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Sweet Potato Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Sweet White Rice Flour

Sweet White Rice Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Sweet White Rice Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Tapioca Flour

Tapioca Flour is naturally gluten free. It is not usually processed in a facility with a high potential of gluten cross-contact. Even if it is not labeled gluten free it is typically safe for those who avoid gluten. It is imperative to closely inspect all labels to ensure Tapioca Flour is gluten free.

Tapioca Starch

Tapioca Starch is naturally gluten free. It is not usually processed in a facility with a high potential of gluten cross-contact. Even if it is not labeled gluten free it is typically safe for those who avoid gluten. It is imperative to closely inspect all labels to ensure Tapioca Starch is gluten free.

Teff Flour

Teff Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the Teff Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Tiger Nut Flour

Tiger Nut Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Tiger Nut Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Unbleached Flour

Unbleached Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat and should never be consumed by anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Unbleached Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Walnut Flour

Walnut Flour is naturally gluten free. Nuts are often processed in a facility where cross-contact with gluten is common. To ensure safety for those with Celiac Disease, a gluten free label is necessary. Without the gluten free label, Walnut Flour must be assumed to contain greater than 20ppm gluten.

Wheat Flour

Wheat Flour is not gluten free. Wheat is the primary source of gluten and should never be consumed by anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Wheat Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Wheat Middlings

Wheat Middlings is not gluten free. Wheat is the primary source of gluten and should never be consumed by anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Wheat Middlings is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

Wheat Starch

Wheat Starch is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to Wheat Starch that contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease. Always look for a Certified Gluten Free label with products containing gluten free Wheat Starch.

White Rice Flour

White Rice Flour is naturally gluten free. Cross-contamination may be a concern if processed in a facility or on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Check for gluten free labels to ensure there is less than 20ppm gluten in the White Rice Flour to be appropriate for people with Celiac Disease.

Whole Grain Flour

Whole Grain Flour is not gluten free. It is made from wheat flour with high gluten content. If labeled as gluten free, it refers to a flour blend with gluten free ingredients and contains less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for consumption by gluten free people and those with Celiac Disease.

Whole Wheat Flour

Whole Wheat Flour is not gluten free. Wheat is the primary source of gluten and should never be consumed by anyone on a medically necessary gluten free diet. If Whole Wheat Flour is on an ingredients list the product will never be safe for someone with Celiac Disease.

75+ Kinds Of Flour – With Gluten Free Explanations

Fawn

My passion is supporting those who need to be gluten free. After my family had to transition to eating gluten free I realized how difficult it is. It is more than finding a recipe. It is about how to navigate social situations, deal with isolation, and other things that come along with it. I live in Oregon with my family, cats, and chickens.

Recent Posts